Search Site

Lim Ah Doo

Chairman and Non-Executive and Independent Director
Mr. Lim Ah Doo was formerly the President and subsequently the non-executive Vice Chairman of RGE Pte Ltd (formerly known as RGM International Pte Ltd). His past working experience includes an 18-year banking career in Morgan Grenfell from 1977 to 1995, during which he held several key positions including that of Chairman of Morgan Grenfell (Asia) Limited. Mr. Lim was previously an Independent Director at EDB Investments and SM Investments Corporation and an Independent Commissioner and Chairman of the Audit Committee of PT Indosat (Indonesia).

Sunny Verghese

Co-Founder and Group CEO
Mr. Sunny Verghese was with the Kewalram Chanrai Group (KC Group) for over two decades and in 1989 was mandated to start the Company with a view to building an agricultural products business for the KC Group. Before joining the KC Group, he worked for Unilever in India. Mr. Verghese previously chaired CitySpring Infrastructure Management Pte Ltd, a listed Business Trust in Singapore and was also a Commissioner of the Business & Sustainable Development Commission (BSDC). Mr. Verghese has won several awards including ‘Outstanding Chief Executive’ at the Singapore Business Awards in 2007, ‘Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year’ for Singapore in 2008 and ‘Best CEO of the Year 2011’ at the Singapore Corporate Awards. He was also awarded the Public Service Medal by the Government of the Republic of Singapore in 2010. At the beginning of 2018, Sunny Verghese also officially took up his role as the new Chair of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD), the global, CEO-led organisation dedicated to accelerating the transition to a sustainable world.

Jean-Paul Pinard

Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr. Jean-Paul Pinard, prior to joining Olam, spent 17 years with the International Finance Corporation, Washington, DC (“IFC”), becoming the Director of its Agribusiness Department, responsible for managing IFC’s global investment portfolio in agri-business and food sectors.

Sanjiv Misra

Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr. Sanjiv Misra’s career featured several senior positions, namely, Chief Executive Officer of Citigroup’s Global Corporate and Investment Banking Group in Singapore and Brunei and Country Officer in Singapore, Head of Asia Pacific Investment Banking and Head of the Asia Pacific Corporate Bank, in a career spanning 11 years with the Citigroup. His career prior to Citigroup included stints with Salomon Brothers and Goldman Sachs & Co.

Nihal Vijaya Devadas Kaviratne, CBE

Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr. Nihal Kaviratne CBE’s career with the Unilever Group spanned 40 years during which he held various senior level management positions in sales, marketing, brand and strategic planning and development, and as Chairman/CEO across Asia, Europe and Latin America. He retired from Unilever in 2005. Mr. Kaviratne was cited in HM Queen Elizabeth II’s 2004 New Year Honours List in the UK and has been made the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to UK business interests and to sustainable development in Indonesia. He was one of “25 leaders at the forefront of change” chosen by Business Week in 2002 for the Stars of Asia Award. In its year end 2010 issue, Forbes India listed him as one of the “5 top names to have on your Board”. He was awarded for driving “Business Excellence” at the World Business Conclave 2016 in Hong Kong. Mr. Kaviratne brings with him extensive organisational, business, management, strategic planning and customer-based experience and knowledge.

Yap Chee Keong

Independent Non-Executive Director
Mr. Yap Chee Keong’s career included being the Executive Director of The Straits Trading Company Limited and the Chief Financial Officer of Singapore Power Ltd. Mr. Yap has also worked in various senior management roles in multinational and listed companies. He was a board member of the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority and a member of the Public Accountants Oversight Committee, the MAS/SGX/ACRA WorkGroup to review the Guidebook for Audit Committees in Singapore and the MAS/SGX/ACRA/SID Review Panel to develop a Guide for Board Risk Committees in Singapore.

Marie Elaine Teo

Independent Non-Executive Director
Ms. Marie Elaine Teo has over 20 years of investment experience, primarily with the Capital Group companies where she focused on Asian banks and global emerging markets, both as an analyst and an investment manager. Ms. Teo was formerly the Chairman of Capital International Research Group and Managing Director of Capital International Inc., Asia.

Mitsumasa Icho

Non-Executive Director
Mr. Mitsumasa Icho is currently Executive Vice President, Corporate Functional Officer, Regional Strategy for Japan and General Manager, Kansai Branch of Mitsubishi Corporation. He has been with the Mitsubishi Group since 1982 and has held senior positions within the Group in Houston and New York as well as other key Group functional roles in Finance, Risk Management, Tax and Administration. He was the Executive Vice President of Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc. from 2006 to 2008 and subsequently Mitsubishi Motors Corporation from 2008 to 2012. Prior to assuming his current role, Mr. Icho was Senior Vice President of the Risk Management Department, an advisory function to the President’s office and the General Manager of Mitsubishi Corporation’s Machinery Group Administration Department.

Yutaka Kyoya

Non-Executive Director
Mr. Yutaka Kyoya is currently the Executive Vice President and Group CEO of Living Essentials Group of Mitsubishi Corporation. He joined Mitsubishi Corporation in 1984 and has since been engaged in the food business. Mr. Kyoya has held various roles in Mitsubishi Corporation in Tokyo as well as in its overseas offices, including the USA, Malaysia and Singapore. Prior to his current position, he was the Deputy General Manager of Living Essentials Group CEO’s Office in 2012 before being promoted to Senior Vice President of Mitsubishi Corporation and Chief Operating Officer of its Living Essential Resources Division in 2014.

A. Shekhar

Executive Director and Group Chief Operating Officer
Mr. Shekhar Anantharaman has been with the Group since 1992. As the Group Chief Operating Officer of the Company, he jointly oversees all aspects of the Company’s global business with the Group CEO. Prior to his current role, he was the Executive Director – Finance and Business Development for the Group leading the Company’s overall Strategy and Business Development activities along with responsibility for various functions including the Group’s Finance and Accounts, Treasury and IR, IT and Shared Services, Legal and Corporate Secretarial and Manufacturing and Technical Services. He has incubated and managed various global businesses for the Group including its Edible Nuts, Spices and Vegetable Ingredients and Packaged Foods businesses. As the Global Head of these businesses, Mr. Anantharaman has been directly involved in identifying and leading many of the Company’s organic and inorganic growth initiatives. He has also played a variety of country management and regional oversight roles across Africa, Asia, Russia, South and North America.

Board of Directors